Skip to content
Best apps

The best lifetime dictation apps for Mac

The cheapest pay-once dictation apps for Mac are VoiceInk at $25, Spokenly Local+ and SpeakMac at $29, and BetterDictation at $39. Koi Lifetime is $59 to $199 with unlimited dictation and calls but limited AI credit, and Superwhisper's lifetime license is $249.99.

By Irakli, founder · Updated

What a lifetime license really buys

A one-time price sounds simple, but every app means something slightly different by it. Some give you updates forever, some for a year. Some cover one Mac, some every device you own. And anything that runs on the maker's servers, like cloud AI, costs them money every time you use it, so it's usually capped, extra, or left out. Read those three lines before the price.

Below are the Mac dictation apps you can pay for once, cheapest first after our own. We make Koi, so it's first and we say so, including where its Lifetime is limited. Prices are list prices in US dollars unless stated, from each app's own pricing page on October 16, 2026. Wispr Flow, Typeless, Willow Voice, Monologue and Aqua Voice don't sell one, so they aren't here.

Mac dictation apps with a lifetime price

1. Koi Lifetime

Best for: Unlimited dictation and recorded calls, paid once

Koi's Lifetime price climbs as it sells: $59 for the first 25 buyers, $99 for the next 50, $159 for the next 100, then $199 for good. It includes every update, and works on any number of your Macs. Dictation is unlimited: tap Fn + ⌥ in any app and Whisper turns your voice into text on the Mac, offline, in 57 languages it detects by itself. Recording online calls and in-person meetings is unlimited too, transcribed on the Mac.

The limit is the assistant. Talking or typing to Koi, and the notes it writes for a recording, run on cloud AI models, and Lifetime pays for them with credit worth 20% of what you paid, at the models' own cost. That credit never expires, but it's small and there's no monthly allowance on top. Once it's used, top-ups of $10, $25, $50 add more, while dictation and recordings keep working. If you'll talk to the assistant every day, Pro ($20 a month, with Koi usage each month) fits better.

Lifetime can be refunded within 3 days from Settings on your Mac, less the Koi credit used and Stripe's fees, once per person; tax isn't refunded. Koi needs an account, runs on the Mac only, has no snippets and doesn't transcribe audio files.

2. VoiceInk

Best for: The cheapest paid lifetime license

$25 for one Mac, $39 for two, $49 for three, with lifetime updates and a 14-day money-back guarantee. Dictation runs on the Mac with local models. It works only on Apple silicon Macs, with macOS 14.4 or later, per its pricing page.

3. Spokenly Local+

Best for: Paying a little once for an app that's already free

Spokenly's Free plan is already unlimited local dictation with no account. Local+ is $29 once and adds the Notch and Capsule recording styles, settings sync and priority support. Cloud models need your own API keys; Spokenly's managed cloud is Pro, at $99.99 a year. It runs on Mac, Windows and Linux, with iPhone coming.

4. SpeakMac

Best for: Pay-once local dictation that runs on Intel

$29 for one Mac or $39 for two, one-time, with a 14-day refund. Watch the fine print: the license is for life, but updates are included for 12 months, then renewing is optional. It works offline after a one-time model setup, in 25 languages by default, on macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon or Intel. It also transcribes audio files you drop in, and a Meeting Mode beta records calls without a bot on macOS 15.

5. BetterDictation

Best for: Large v3 Turbo dictation on Apple silicon

Basic is $39 for one Mac, Flex $49 for three, Studio $149 for ten, with a 14-day refund. It runs whisper-large-v3-turbo on the Neural Engine and needs an M1 or newer. Like Koi, the AI part is separate: Pro cleanup is $2 a month billed yearly, sends text to OpenAI, and Flex includes its first three months.

6. MacWhisper Pro

Best for: Transcribing files, paid once

€64 once, with lifetime updates. MacWhisper is a transcription app first, with dictation added, so it's the lifetime pick if recordings matter more than talking into apps. The Mac App Store edition is sold through in-app purchases instead. The current version needs macOS 15.

7. VoiceTypr

Best for: A one-time license for a Mac and a PC

$69 once for two devices, which can be a Mac and a Windows PC, with the updates it ships. A 3-day trial needs no card, and there's a 7-day refund. It runs Whisper and Parakeet on the device, supports Intel Macs, and transcribes files.

8. Voibe

Best for: Lifetime dictation with cloud mode and meetings, Mac and Windows

Voibe sells lifetime seats: Dictation is $199 and Work is $399, each covering Mac and Windows. Voibe says a lifetime seat includes everything in its plan, Cloud Mode and future updates among them. Dictation runs on the device or in a zero-retention cloud mode, and there's a 30-day refund.

9. Superwhisper Pro Lifetime

Best for: Every device under one license, for good

$249.99 once, with every Pro feature, the same as the monthly and yearly plans. One license covers unlimited Macs and Windows PCs plus an iPhone and an Android phone, and Superwhisper offers a 30-day refund on all plans. It costs less than three years of its $84.99 yearly plan. Its FAQ says Intel Macs work best with its cloud models.

Lifetime dictation apps side by side

AppOnceCoversUpdatesIntel MacsBest for
Koi Lifetime$59 to $199Any number of MacsEvery updateYesDictation and calls; small AI credit
VoiceInk$251 MacLifetimeNoCheapest
Spokenly Local+$29Not statedNot statedNot statedExtras on a free app
SpeakMac$291 Mac12 monthsYesIntel, files
BetterDictation$391 MacIncludedNoLarge v3 Turbo
MacWhisper Pro€64Not statedLifetimeNot statedFiles
VoiceTypr$692 devicesIncludedYesMac plus PC
Voibe Dictation$199Mac and WindowsFuture updatesNot statedCloud mode included
Superwhisper$249.99All your devicesSame as ProCloud advisedPhones too

“Not stated” means the app's pricing page doesn't say. Free apps aren't in the table, but Handy and FluidVoice are free and open source, and Spokenly's Free plan is unlimited local dictation.

When does paying once beat a subscription?

Against the subscription apps, most of these pay for themselves fast. Wispr Flow Pro is $144 a year billed yearly, Typeless Pro is $144 billed yearly or $30 a month, and Monologue Pro is $144 a year. Three years of any of those is $432 or more. Every lifetime price above is lower than that, Superwhisper's included.

1 year2 years3 years
Wispr Flow Pro, yearly$144$288$432
Superwhisper Pro, yearly$84.99$169.98$254.97
Koi Pro, yearly$192$384$576
Superwhisper Pro Lifetime$249.99$249.99$249.99
Koi Lifetime, at its last price$199$199$199
VoiceInk, one Mac$25$25$25

The catch is what isn't in the lifetime price. Cloud AI costs the maker money each time, so it's where lifetime plans differ most: BetterDictation charges for cleanup, Spokenly asks for your own keys, and Koi Lifetime gives a one-off credit for its assistant. Dictation that runs on your Mac costs nobody anything per word, which is why it's the part that's truly unlimited.

Five things to check

  • How many Macs. VoiceInk, SpeakMac and BetterDictation price per device. Koi and Superwhisper don't.
  • How long updates last. SpeakMac's are 12 months; most others say lifetime.
  • Your chip. VoiceInk and BetterDictation need Apple silicon. Koi, SpeakMac and VoiceTypr run on Intel.
  • Your macOS. MacWhisper's current version needs macOS 15, VoiceInk 14.4, Koi and SpeakMac 14.
  • The refund window. From 3 days (Koi Lifetime) to 30 (Superwhisper, Voibe). Try the trial first where there is one.

Koi's Pro has a 3-day free trial that needs a card; Lifetime is paid at once. Compare plans on Koi's pricing, or see Superwhisper alternatives for more on its lifetime license, and the best Whisper apps for Mac for free ones.

Which lifetime app should you buy?

  • Least money, Apple silicon: VoiceInk.
  • An Intel Mac: SpeakMac, VoiceTypr or Koi.
  • Files more than dictation: MacWhisper Pro.
  • Mac, Windows and phones on one license: Superwhisper.
  • Dictation and call recording, with an assistant you'll use now and then: Koi Lifetime.

Leaving a subscription app? Our pages on Wispr Flow alternatives, Typeless alternatives and Monologue alternatives compare them with these.

Keep exploring

The best Whisper apps for Mac

The best Whisper apps for Mac in 2026, for dictation and for transcribing files: prices, free options, Intel support and which Whisper models each one runs.

Wispr Flow pricing, explained

Wispr Flow pricing, checked October 16, 2026: Free's word limits, Pro at $15 or $12, why Growth shows both $23 and $33, student discounts and 3-year costs.

The best dictation apps for Mac in 2026

The best dictation app for Mac depends on what you need. Koi, Superwhisper, Wispr Flow, MacWhisper, Typeless and 8 more: prices, free tiers, what runs offline.

The best Monologue alternatives for Mac

Monologue alternatives for Mac, checked October 16, 2026: apps that clean up dictation with no connection, run on Intel, record meetings or cost less than $15.

Frequently asked questions

Try Koi on your Mac

Try Pro free for 3 days, card needed. Dictation and recorded calls are unlimited on every plan.